Buying Guides

Best USB Hubs in 2026: 10 Picks for Laptops, Desks, and Workstations

Compare USB hubs for laptop expansion, display connections, card readers, individual port controls, and powered desktop setups.

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.

The best USB hubs add the ports your computer lacks, from basic USB-A expansion to USB-C docks with display output and charging. Choose by host connection, the devices you need to attach, and whether you want portable convenience or powered desktop expansion.

Quick Top Products

Fast USB-C Data and Display

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
  • Four USB data ports support 10Gbps connections.
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • A 100W charger can pass up to 80W to the laptop.

Best For: Laptop users who want fast USB-A and USB-C ports alongside a 4K display connection.

Built-In M.2 Storage Dock

SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & SSD Dock (HB-6PNV)

SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & SSD Dock (HB-6PNV)
  • Includes an internal slot for M.2 SATA or NVMe SSDs.
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • Provides Gigabit Ethernet and three USB-A ports.

Best For: Traveling laptop and handheld users who want to combine USB expansion, networking, video, and an M.2 drive.

Card Reader and Audio Expansion

j5create 7-in-1 USB-C Hub (JCD373EC)

j5create 7-in-1 USB-C Hub (JCD373EC)
  • Provides USB-A, HDMI, power delivery, audio, and card-reader connections.
  • HDMI output supports up to 4K at 30Hz.
  • The USB-C PD port supports up to 100W.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who need HDMI, SD and microSD access, audio, and charging pass-through.

Compact 4K HDMI and Charging

SABRENT USB-C Hub with 4K HDMI (HB-SHPU)

SABRENT USB-C Hub with 4K HDMI (HB-SHPU)
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • USB-A includes one 5Gbps port and two USB 2.0 ports.
  • The integrated cable is 15cm long.

Best For: Laptop and tablet users who want a travel-friendly USB-C adapter with HDMI and 90W power delivery.

Affordable HDMI and USB-A Adapter

SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-TC5P)
  • Provides one 5Gbps USB-A port and two USB 2.0 ports.
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • The USB-C power input supports pass-through charging up to 100W.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who need 4K HDMI, three USB-A ports, and power pass-through in a small adapter.

Powered Hub with Dedicated Charging

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub with Charging (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub with Charging (HB-B7C3)
  • Supports up to seven USB 3.0 data devices.
  • Includes three charging ports with up to 2.4A per port.
  • Includes a 60W power adapter.

Best For: A desk setup that needs multiple USB-A devices connected, individual port switches, and separate charging ports.

USB-C Desktop Hub with Port Switches

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
  • Includes three USB-A and four USB-C ports rated at 5Gbps.
  • Every port has an individual power switch and LED.
  • One USB-C port supports up to 20W PD.

Best For: USB-C host users who want a powered desktop hub with both USB-A and USB-C ports and individual switches.

Ten Switched USB 3.0 Ports

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
  • Provides ten USB 3.0 ports.
  • Supports data transfer up to 5Gbps.
  • Individual switches have blue LED indicators.

Best For: Desktop users who need many USB-A data ports with individual switches and status lights.

Maximum Port Count for a Workstation

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
  • Provides sixteen USB 3.0 downstream ports.
  • Supports data transfer up to 5Gbps.
  • Blue LEDs indicate port power status.

Best For: Workstations that need a large bank of USB-A connections for peripherals, drives, and other devices.

Large USB 2.0 Bank with Adapter

SABRENT 13-Port USB 2.0 Hub (HB-U14P)

SABRENT 13-Port USB 2.0 Hub (HB-U14P)
  • Adds thirteen USB 2.0 ports.
  • Supports up to 480Mbps transfer speeds.
  • Includes a power adapter and supports plug-and-play use.

Best For: A computer setup that needs many USB connections for lower-speed accessories and legacy devices.

Fast USB-C Data and Display

SABRENT USB C Hub 5-in-1, 10Gbps USB-A & USB-C Ports, Single 4K@60Hz HDMI, 100W PD Input, 80W Laptop Charging, Compact Aluminum Docking Station for MacBook, iPad, Laptops & Tablets (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
Check Price on Amazon

This compact USB-C hub combines four 10Gbps data ports—two USB-A and two USB-C—with HDMI output and a dedicated USB-C power input. It supports up to 4K at 60Hz, while a 100W charger can pass up to 80W to the laptop; the charger itself is not included.

A 60cm integrated cable gives some placement flexibility, and the aluminum housing uses passive cooling. Check that the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode for video, and MST if you need extended desktop mode.

The backlit logo doubles as a power switch, so it suits users who value control as well as connectivity.

Best For: Laptop users who want fast USB-A and USB-C ports alongside a 4K display connection.

Pros Cons
  • Combines fast USB-A and USB-C data ports.
  • Supports 4K at 60Hz video output.
  • The integrated cable measures 60cm.
  • The power adapter is not included.
  • Extended desktop mode requires host MST support.

Choose this hub if your laptop needs both fast USB-A and USB-C data connections and a 4K monitor output. Its 80W maximum pass-through leaves room for a laptop charger, but you need to supply a compatible 100W charger.

Confirm video support on the host USB-C port, and check MST support if you plan to extend across displays. The integrated cable is longer than the short travel leads found on some compact hubs.

Check Price on Amazon

Built-In M.2 Storage Dock

SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure, 6-Port Dock with M.2 SSD Slot, 90W Power Delivery, USB 3.0 & 2.0 Ports, 4K HDMI, RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet (HB-6PNV)

SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & SSD Dock (HB-6PNV)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-6PNV is a USB-C hub with an internal M.2 slot, Gigabit Ethernet, HDMI, three USB-A ports, and up to 90W power delivery. Its SSD slot accepts M.2 SATA or NVMe drives in 2242, 2260, or 2280 form factors, with the SSD connection reaching up to 5Gbps.

HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz when the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode. Two USB-A ports run at 5Gbps; the third is USB 2.0 for lower-speed peripherals.

This makes it a useful compact dock for people who want storage and wired network access in one device, though the M.2 drive is not specified as included.

Best For: Traveling laptop and handheld users who want to combine USB expansion, networking, video, and an M.2 drive.

Pros Cons
  • Combines wired Gigabit Ethernet, HDMI, and USB-A expansion.
  • Supports multiple common M.2 drive form factors.
  • Offers up to 90W bypass charging.
  • The SSD itself is not specified as included.
  • The M.2 connection is limited to up to 5Gbps.

Pick this model if you want a hub that also accommodates an M.2 drive and provides wired networking. It has two faster USB-A ports plus a USB 2.0 port, HDMI, and up to 90W bypass charging.

Before buying, verify the laptop supports USB-C DisplayPort Alternate Mode for video and confirm your SSD's interface and form factor match the slot. The drive is an additional component to plan for, while the integrated hub offers more built-in functions than a simple port expander.

Check Price on Amazon

Card Reader and Audio Expansion

j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub with Power Delivery with 4K HDMI/2 USB-A 5Gbps/PD 100W Charging SD&Micro SD/3.5mm Audio | for MacBook Pro&Air/iPad Pro/iMac/Surface/XPS/Thinkpad/Galaxy/and More(JCD373EC)

j5create 7-in-1 USB-C Hub (JCD373EC)
Check Price on Amazon

The j5create 7-in-1 hub adds two 5Gbps USB-A data ports, an HDMI output, SD and microSD card readers, a 3.5mm audio jack, and a 100W USB-C PD port. HDMI supports up to 4K at 30Hz, making it suitable for adding a display when the host supports compatible video output.

Its mix of card slots and audio is helpful for a laptop desk or travel setup where several adapters would otherwise be needed. The product notes identify a plastic enclosure.

Check whether 30Hz at 4K meets your display needs and whether your computer's USB-C port supports video.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who need HDMI, SD and microSD access, audio, and charging pass-through.

Pros Cons
  • Includes both SD and microSD card readers.
  • Adds a 3.5mm audio connection alongside display and data ports.
  • Designed for plug-and-play use.
  • 4K HDMI output is limited to 30Hz.
  • The enclosure material is plastic.

This hub suits someone who regularly moves camera files or needs a headphone connection and display output from a USB-C laptop. It offers more media-oriented connections than a basic USB-A splitter, including both card formats and a 3.5mm jack.

The display tradeoff is 4K at 30Hz, so check your monitor and use case before relying on it for smoother high-refresh output. Confirm USB-C video compatibility as well.

Check Price on Amazon

Compact 4K HDMI and Charging

SABRENT Multi-Port USB-C Hub with Power Delivery, HDMI Out, 3 USB A Ports, 4K@60Hz, 90W PD, Aluminum [HB-SHPU]

SABRENT USB-C Hub with 4K HDMI (HB-SHPU)
Check Price on Amazon

This aluminum USB-C hub pairs HDMI 2.0 output with three USB-A ports and up to 90W USB-C power delivery. The USB-A mix is one 5Gbps port for faster storage and two 480Mbps ports for keyboards, mice, and other modest-speed peripherals.

HDMI can extend or mirror a display up to 4K at 60Hz, provided the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode. Its integrated 15cm cable and LED power indicator make it a compact option for travel or a tidy desk.

Consider whether the two slower USB-A ports fit your devices, and check host video support before counting on HDMI.

Best For: Laptop and tablet users who want a travel-friendly USB-C adapter with HDMI and 90W power delivery.

Pros Cons
  • Combines 4K HDMI output with up to 90W power delivery.
  • Compact aluminum casing and an integrated cable suit travel.
  • Includes a faster USB-A port for storage.
  • Two USB-A ports run at USB 2.0 speeds.
  • HDMI requires USB-C host support for DisplayPort Alternate Mode.

Choose the HB-SHPU when a small travel hub needs to add a 4K display connection and charging while keeping three USB-A sockets available. One port handles faster storage, while the two USB 2.0 ports suit lower-speed accessories.

Its short integrated cable keeps the hub close to the host, so consider your desk layout if you need more reach. Check DisplayPort Alternate Mode support and charger compatibility before relying on the display and power features.

Check Price on Amazon

Affordable HDMI and USB-A Adapter

SABRENT USB C Hub, USB C to HDMI 4K@60Hz, Type C Hub Multiport Adapter, 100W Power Delivery, Compatible with MacBook, Laptop (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-TC5P)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-TC5P provides HDMI output, three USB-A ports, and USB-C power delivery pass-through in a compact aluminum adapter. HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz, and the three USB-A ports include one 5Gbps USB 3.0 connection plus two 480Mbps USB 2.0 connections.

The USB-C input is for charging only; it does not carry data or video. This port mix works well when a laptop needs a monitor, external storage, and a couple of everyday peripherals.

Verify that the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode and USB-C charging, since not every USB-C port supports both functions.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who need 4K HDMI, three USB-A ports, and power pass-through in a small adapter.

Pros Cons
  • Combines video output, charging pass-through, and three USB-A ports.
  • Works across Windows, macOS, and Linux.
  • Uses an integrated cable and aluminum shell.
  • The USB-C power input carries no data or video.
  • Host video output requires DisplayPort Alternate Mode.

This is a straightforward choice for a USB-C laptop that needs a monitor connection and a few USB-A accessories. The 4K at 60Hz output and up to 100W pass-through cover useful desk functions, but the port allocation is uneven: one USB-A port is 5Gbps and two are USB 2.0.

Treat the USB-C input as charging-only, not another data port. Check that the laptop supports both video over USB-C and charging through its USB-C connection.

Check Price on Amazon

Powered Hub with Dedicated Charging

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub, Individual Power Switches and LEDs, 3 Smart Charging Ports, 60W Power Adapter, for PC, Mac, Xbox, PS5, Laptop, Desktop, USB Devices (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub with Charging (HB-B7C3)
Check Price on Amazon

This powered desktop hub separates seven USB 3.0 data ports from three dedicated charging ports. Data connections support up to 5Gbps, and the charging ports can deliver up to 2.4A each.

A 60W, 12V/5A power adapter is included, while individual power switches and LED indicators provide port-level control for the data connections. Its broad port count suits a workstation with drives and peripherals that stay connected.

Before buying, check that your devices use USB-A and remember that seven ports are designated for data; the three charging ports are intended for charging rather than data transfer.

Best For: A desk setup that needs multiple USB-A devices connected, individual port switches, and separate charging ports.

Pros Cons
  • Combines multiple USB 3.0 data ports and dedicated charging ports.
  • Individual switches and LEDs help manage connected data devices.
  • No drivers are required for its listed operating systems.
  • Only seven ports are identified as USB 3.0 data ports.
  • Each dedicated charging port is rated up to 2.4A.

Pick this powered hub for a desk with several USB-A peripherals and separate devices to charge. It makes the distinction between data and charging clear: seven USB 3.0 ports connect peripherals, while three ports are dedicated to charging.

The included 60W adapter powers the hub, and individual switches help manage connections. Check how many of your devices need data access and whether the charging ports' up to 2.4A output suits your devices.

Check Price on Amazon

USB-C Desktop Hub with Port Switches

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub, 48W Powered, 5Gbps, 3 USB-A + 4 USB-C (HB-3A4C) | 20W PD; LED status; aluminum body; power switches; for Mac, PC, Steam Deck, ROG Ally

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-3A4C expands a USB-C host into seven downstream ports: three USB-A and four USB-C, all rated at 5Gbps. Each has an individual power switch and white LED indicator, giving this desktop hub more direct port control than a basic splitter.

Its fourth USB-C port supports up to 20W PD, while the other three USB-C ports provide 5V/900mA. A 48W power adapter is included.

Check which devices need the higher-power USB-C connection, and note that the product specifies 5Gbps ports.

Best For: USB-C host users who want a powered desktop hub with both USB-A and USB-C ports and individual switches.

Pros Cons
  • Provides both USB-A and USB-C connectivity.
  • Includes a 48W power adapter.
  • Supports plug-and-play operation without drivers.
  • The ports are rated at 5Gbps.
  • Only one USB-C port is identified as supporting up to 20W PD.

Choose this model if a USB-C host needs several mixed USB-A and USB-C connections and you want to switch ports individually. All seven downstream ports are specified at 5Gbps, and one USB-C port supports up to 20W PD while the remaining USB-C ports are described at 5V/900mA.

It includes its own 48W adapter. Map your devices to the available power levels before buying, especially if several need charging rather than data.

Check Price on Amazon

Ten Switched USB 3.0 Ports

SABRENT 10-Port 60W USB 3.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs, Includes 60W 12V/5A Power Adapter (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-BU10 offers ten USB 3.0 ports for connecting drives, phones, card readers, and other USB peripherals. Data transfer supports up to 5Gbps, and each port has an individual power switch with a blue LED status indicator.

It includes a 60W, 12V/5A adapter and uses a mirrored surface with a compact design. This is a practical high-port-count choice for a desktop setup where several connections should remain available but be controlled separately.

The product notes do not identify separate dedicated charging ports, so check whether you need charging-focused connections in addition to its USB data ports.

Best For: Desktop users who need many USB-A data ports with individual switches and status lights.

Pros Cons
  • High port count for USB-A peripherals.
  • Includes a 60W power adapter.
  • Plug-and-play setup does not require driver installation.
  • Not specified: whether any ports are dedicated charging ports.
  • Not specified: host connector length and cable placement details. Check that the cable can reach your intended setup.

This hub fits a desk that needs many USB 3.0 connections and independent control over each port. The included 60W adapter and per-port status lights make it distinct from small bus-powered expanders.

Check your available desk space and the host cable arrangement, since those details are not specified here. If you need dedicated charging ports, confirm that requirement separately; the product information focuses on ten USB 3.0 ports and does not identify a separate charging bank.

Check Price on Amazon

Maximum Port Count for a Workstation

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Data Hub and Charger with Individual Power Switches, 90W High-Power Output (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-PU16 provides sixteen downstream USB 3.0 ports, with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps and support for USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices. Blue LEDs indicate power status for each port, and the hub is described for plug-and-play, hot-swappable use.

Its unusually high port count makes it a fit for a workstation with many USB-A peripherals to leave connected. The notes mention access or charging for connected devices, but do not specify charging output or a power adapter's details.

Check those power needs before using it as a charging station, and confirm that a USB-A hub matches the host and devices in your setup.

Best For: Workstations that need a large bank of USB-A connections for peripherals, drives, and other devices.

Pros Cons
  • Offers a higher port count than the other selected hubs.
  • Supports USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices.
  • Supports plug-and-play and hot-swappable use.
  • Not specified: the included power adapter and per-port charging output.
  • The product is a USB 3.0 hub, not a USB-C multiport display adapter.

Choose the HB-PU16 when the main goal is connecting many USB peripherals at one workstation. It offers sixteen USB 3.0 ports and blue status LEDs, while supporting older USB 2.0 and 1.1 devices.

Its focus is USB expansion rather than display connections or a documented charging specification. Before buying, check how the hub receives power and whether its USB-A host connection fits your computer; confirm charging needs separately.

Check Price on Amazon

Large USB 2.0 Bank with Adapter

SABRENT 13 Port High Speed USB 2.0 Hub with Power Adapter and 2 Control Switches (HB-U14P)

SABRENT 13-Port USB 2.0 Hub (HB-U14P)
Check Price on Amazon

This powered hub adds thirteen USB 2.0 downstream ports and includes a power adapter. The ports support up to 480Mbps, with backward compatibility for USB 1.1 devices and hosts.

It also supports plug-and-play and hot-swappable use, and multiple hubs can be daisy-chained according to the product details. Its large port count can suit a collection of keyboards, mice, and other compatible accessories, but USB 2.0 speeds are the main tradeoff for storage-heavy setups.

Check that the connected devices do not need faster transfer speeds, and allow for the hub's desktop footprint when planning where it will sit.

Best For: A computer setup that needs many USB connections for lower-speed accessories and legacy devices.

Pros Cons
  • High port count for USB 2.0 accessories.
  • Works with USB 1.1 devices and hosts.
  • Supports daisy-chaining multiple hubs.
  • USB 2.0 transfer is limited to up to 480Mbps.
  • The enclosure is plastic.

This is an option for a stationary setup with many lower-speed USB devices, especially where legacy USB 1.1 support matters. Thirteen ports and the included adapter distinguish it from compact hubs, but USB 2.0's 480Mbps ceiling makes it less suited to frequent large file transfers than faster alternatives.

Check your device mix and available desk space before choosing it. Its port count is useful only if the connected accessories can share the host connection comfortably.

Check Price on Amazon

How to Choose Usb Hubs

How We Picked Best USB Hubs

We selected products that solve different common expansion needs: adding USB-A ports, connecting USB-C peripherals, attaching a display, reading memory cards, or powering a large desktop arrangement. The roundup includes compact adapters for travel, hubs with individual port controls, and powered models with higher port counts.

Each pick has a distinct use case and enough product detail to compare its connections and limits.

A hub's advertised port count does not tell the whole story. We looked at the type and speed of its ports, whether charging is supported, and whether display or card-reader functions are included.

Product-specific compatibility conditions matter too: USB-C video output depends on host support, while some hubs reserve their USB-C connection for power only.

Comparing USB Hubs for Work and Travel

Start with the host connection and the devices you plan to attach. A USB-C laptop user who needs HDMI and charging can consider the Sabrent HB-TG5P, HB-SHPU, or HB-TC5P; check how many fast data ports each provides.

The j5create model adds SD and microSD readers plus audio, while the Sabrent HB-6PNV adds wired Ethernet and an M.2 SSD slot.

For travel, a compact integrated hub cable keeps extra wiring down, but cable length affects placement. The HB-SHPU has a 15cm cable, while the HB-TG5P has a 60cm cable.

Match that reach to the laptop's ports and your desk layout. Video output also depends on the host: check DisplayPort Alternate Mode support, and look at the specific resolution and refresh rate offered by the hub.

The j5create hub supports 4K at 30Hz, while several selected Sabrent models support 4K at 60Hz.

ProductStandout featuresBest for
SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)Check Price
  • Four USB data ports support 10Gbps connections.
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
Laptop users who want fast USB-A and USB-C ports alongside a 4K display connection.
SABRENT 6-Port USB-C Hub & SSD Dock (HB-6PNV)Check Price
  • Includes an internal slot for M.2 SATA or NVMe SSDs.
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
Traveling laptop and handheld users who want to combine USB expansion, networking, video, and an M.2 drive.
j5create 7-in-1 USB-C Hub (JCD373EC)Check Price
  • Provides USB-A, HDMI, power delivery, audio, and card-reader connections.
  • HDMI output supports up to 4K at 30Hz.
USB-C laptop users who need HDMI, SD and microSD access, audio, and charging pass-through.
SABRENT USB-C Hub with 4K HDMI (HB-SHPU)Check Price
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • USB-A includes one 5Gbps port and two USB 2.0 ports.
Laptop and tablet users who want a travel-friendly USB-C adapter with HDMI and 90W power delivery.
SABRENT USB-C Hub with HDMI (HB-TC5P)Check Price
  • Provides one 5Gbps USB-A port and two USB 2.0 ports.
  • HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz.
USB-C laptop users who need 4K HDMI, three USB-A ports, and power pass-through in a small adapter.
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub with Charging (HB-B7C3)Check Price
  • Supports up to seven USB 3.0 data devices.
  • Includes three charging ports with up to 2.4A per port.
A desk setup that needs multiple USB-A devices connected, individual port switches, and separate charging ports.
SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)Check Price
  • Includes three USB-A and four USB-C ports rated at 5Gbps.
  • Every port has an individual power switch and LED.
USB-C host users who want a powered desktop hub with both USB-A and USB-C ports and individual switches.
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)Check Price
  • Provides ten USB 3.0 ports.
  • Supports data transfer up to 5Gbps.
Desktop users who need many USB-A data ports with individual switches and status lights.
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)Check Price
  • Provides sixteen USB 3.0 downstream ports.
  • Supports data transfer up to 5Gbps.
Workstations that need a large bank of USB-A connections for peripherals, drives, and other devices.
SABRENT 13-Port USB 2.0 Hub (HB-U14P)Check Price
  • Adds thirteen USB 2.0 ports.
  • Supports up to 480Mbps transfer speeds.
A computer setup that needs many USB connections for lower-speed accessories and legacy devices.

Choosing a Powered USB Hub for a Desk

For a desktop USB-A setup, decide whether you need many data ports, individual switches, or charging connections. The SABRENT HB-B7C3 has seven USB 3.0 data ports and three dedicated charging ports, with a 60W adapter included.

The HB-BU10 provides ten USB 3.0 ports, while the HB-PU16 expands to sixteen; the latter's charging and adapter details are not specified here, so check those requirements before purchase.

A powered hub's total output does not mean every port supplies the same amount or serves the same purpose. The HB-B7C3 identifies its charging ports separately from its data ports.

The HB-3A4C gives one USB-C port up to 20W PD and rates its other USB-C ports at 5V/900mA. Map high-demand devices to the ports and power levels described for the model you choose.

USB 2.0, USB 3.0, and USB-C Port Choices

USB 2.0 hubs can work well for keyboards, mice, and older accessories, but their transfer ceiling is lower than the USB 3.0 options in this guide. The thirteen-port HB-U14P supports USB 2.0 speeds up to 480Mbps, making it a port-rich fit for compatible lower-speed devices.

For faster storage and peripheral connections, the selected USB 3.0 and USB-C hubs provide higher stated data rates.

USB-C names the connector shape, not every feature a hub supports. Check whether each port is intended for data, charging, or video.

For example, the HB-TC5P's USB-C input handles charging only, while the HB-TG5P uses a dedicated USB-C PD input alongside separate data ports. Reading the port map before buying helps avoid expecting one connector to perform a different role.

Who Should Buy Which USB Hub

Choose the HB-TG5P for a compact mix of fast USB-A and USB-C data ports with 4K at 60Hz output, or the HB-6PNV when built-in M.2 storage and Gigabit Ethernet are priorities. The j5create hub suits users who need SD and microSD cards and a 3.5mm audio connection.

For a simpler laptop adapter, compare the HB-SHPU and HB-TC5P by cable length and USB-A port speeds.

For a desk with many USB-A devices, consider the HB-B7C3 for its separate charging ports, the HB-BU10 for ten switched USB 3.0 ports, or the HB-PU16 for sixteen downstream ports. The HB-U14P is the USB 2.0 choice for legacy and lower-speed accessories.

Before deciding, count the data connections you need, check whether charging must be separate, and confirm host compatibility for video and USB-C power.

Written by

starcareeracademy.com Editorial Team

Editorial team

starcareeracademy.com publishes practical how-to guides and educational articles with clear steps and useful context.

Best overall

In a hurry?

Start with this pick, then check Amazon for available deals.

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

4.5/51,000+ ratingsRead Amazon Reviews ↗

Best for: Workstations that need a large bank of USB-A connections for peripherals, drives, and other devices.

Check for deals on Amazon